Join Us Today

Join Us Today

Learn the 19 reasons why RPENM is the place for you.

Learn More


Executive Officers

Joel Pafford

President - Ratón, NM - (Term ends May 2019)

"I have been a lifelong resident of New Mexico; born and raised in Albuquerque, a graduate of Highland High School (1969) and NMSU with a BS in Wildlife Science (1976).

During my career with the NM Department of Game and Fish (1976-2001), I had the opportunity to train in Roswell, NM (1976) and then transfer to Carrizozo, NM as a District Wildlife Officer (1977-1985). In 1985, I was promoted to District Wildlife Supervisor and spent the remainder of my career in Raton, NM, retiring in November, 2001."

Joseph Luna

First Vice President - Estancia, NM - (Term ends May 2021)

"My name is Joseph Luna from Estancia, New Mexico. I am a Native New Mexican, retired from two careers. I served 26 years with the Albuquerque Fire Department, retiring as a Lieutenant. I also served 22 years as a Crew Chief with the New Mexico National Guard 717th, MEDEVAC unit out of Santa Fe; retiring with the rank of Staff Sargent. I am running for the board of RPENM to help our voice be heard and to protect what all PERA retirees worked so hard for. Whether you retired young, or older, we are all in the same boat with a ‘fixed’ income, whether we choose to go back to work or not."

Michael Francis

Second Vice President-Las Cruces, NM

Michael Hansen

Treasurer- Albuquerque, NM

Isabel Clendenin

Secretary - Albuquerque, NM - (Term ends May 2021)

"After retiring from public service in 1994, I became a member of RPENM in 1997. In 1999, I became an elected board member and took on the duties of Treasurer through December 1999 after which I served as Board Secretary until December 2003. I was also Treasurer from May 2002 through May 2009 during which I set up the financial tracking system still in use by RPENM. I returned to the board & the Treasurer position in May 2011, which I maintained until May 2015. I also served on the Chapter 5 board as treasurer for a number of years."

Board of Directors

Wayne Lucero

Board Member - Estancia, NM - (Term ends May 2021)

Wayne Lucero, born and raised in Estancia New Mexico, graduated in 1984. While in high school joined the Army National Guard in 1983 and later transferred to the Air Force after graduating high school. I served for 7 1⁄2 years. I became a Fire Fighter for the City of Albuquerque Fire Department and while working my career, I received a bachelor’s degree in Fire Science from the City Colleges of Chicago. I retired after serving the public for 21 years, and I am a proud member of Local 244. As a board member of RPENM, I would work to address members concerns and bring forth better communication and notifications in regards to our benefits.

Dr. Lee Caruana, MD

Board Member- Ratón, NM

Barbara Castillo

Raton, NM

Susan Biernacki

Board Member - Albuquerque, NM - (Term ends 2021)

Susan has been an active member of many volunteer boards. She served on the NM Public Employees Retirement Association (“PERA”) Board from 1994 through 2004 and again from 2007 until her retirement in December, 2013. During her tenure on the PERA Board, Susan served on various committees and chaired the Investments Committee for many years. Susan also has served on the Rio Grande Credit Union Supervisory Committee since April 2004 and currently chairs this Committee. In addition, Susan served many years on the Albuquerque Academy Parent Association board, including two years on their Executive Board. Susan has been a long standing member of RPENM and was recently appointed to its Board of Directors.

Doug Crandall

NMRHCA Representative - Scottsdale, AZ - (Annual Appointment)

Doug Crandall has been a member of RPENM since 1998 and has served as RPENM Executive Director, Board Member, and currently is appointed as RPENM’s representative to the New Mexico Retiree Health Care Authority Board of Directors. He is on the RHCA Executive Committee, serving as Secretary.

Doug is formerly a Board Chair of the Rio Grande Credit Union, Board member of the Ronald McDonald House Charities of New Mexico and serves as an appointed member to the UNM Foundation Investment Committee. He is a former director of the New Mexico Municipal League and prior President of the New Mexico Supervisors and Professionals Association. Doug is a former three term President of HEAR Neighborhood Association in Albuquerque and is active in many local civic activities.

Doug is currently the principal and managing partner of DAC Enterprises, Inc. a Zoning and Land Use Consulting Firm.


Executive Director

Miguel A. Gómez

Executive Director

PERA Board Representative